Like everyone else here in Pennsylvania, or anywhere else for that matter, when you woke up this morning, you probably thought your workday would be just like the ones before it. You expected to go to work, do your job and go home safe and sound at the end of the day. Unfortunately, you ended up suffering a workplace injury, and now you are not sure where to go from here.
What you do next could determine whether your pursuit of and eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits will be a smooth process or not. The first thing you need to do is tell your employer about your injury. Even though the law gives up to 120 days to do so, the sooner you report the incident, the better. When you do, document the accident and your injuries in writing, and make sure you keep a copy for yourself.
You will also need to see a doctor chosen by your company no later than 90 days after the incident. After that time, you can see any doctor you choose, but make sure that you follow this step first. Also, make sure you complete this step as soon as possible so the company doctor can document all of your injuries and their severity. You will need to follow that doctor’s treatment plan and attend all of your appointments in order to help preserve your claim for workers’ compensation benefits.
Of course, even if you follow all of your employer’s instructions and the steps you must legally take, that does not guarantee that you will receive the benefits you need in order to get you through your recovery after a workplace injury. You could initially receive a denial of your claim. It would most likely be worth your while to discuss your situation with an attorney as soon as possible to help make sure that you follow all applicable Pennsylvania laws to increase your chances of receiving the benefits you need as quickly as possible.