Injured At Work? Now What?
After an on-the-job injury, you need to act fast to protect your rights. While Pennsylvania law provides workers’ compensation benefits to employees who are injured at work regardless of how the injury occurred, you must take certain steps to ensure you qualify.
We invite you to contact our law office in Pottsville at any stage in the process by calling 570-391-0199. One of our partner attorneys, Rob Frantz, is a Certified Workers’ Compensation Specialist* and he and the rest of our team are prepared to listen to your concerns and answer your questions free of charge.
Steps To Take After A Workplace Injury
- Tell your employer about the workplace injury as soon as possible. Report the incident to your boss or supervisor. The law gives you 120 days to report an injury, but it is not wise to wait.
- Fill out a written report. Ask your boss for an injury report form. Make a copy to keep for your own records. If no form is available, write down what happened to the best of your ability.
- Ask about company doctors (also known as comp doctors) or panel physicians. Your employer should have a list of doctors posted. Within the first 90 days of your injury, you must be treated by a company doctor. It is important to do this as soon as possible, while your injuries are evident. Be honest with the doctor during your appointment. It can come back to haunt you later if you try to hide anything. After 90 days, you are free to see any doctor you would like, provided you give your employer five days’ notice. You are also free to get a second opinion within the 90-day period, but your employer will not pay for this.
- Follow the doctor’s treatment plan. Make sure you make it to subsequent appointments and follow the doctor’s instructions. It can hurt your case if you fail to follow the treatment plan.
- Call a reputable lawyer for advice. We will answer your questions for free at any stage in the process. If you feel the comp doctor is sending you back to work too soon or you have concerns about workers’ compensation benefits, we would be happy to help. We charge no fees for advice, and you can learn more about the fees we do charge our clients here.
Get Your Questions Answered
Workers’ compensation law is complicated. We believe very strongly that injured workers and their families need to understand their rights and options. Contact us today to talk over your concerns with an attorney. We do not charge for our advice. Call 570-391-0199 or send in our online form to get started.
*Rob Frantz is certified as a specialist in the practice of workers’ compensation law by the Pennsylvania Bar Association’s Section on Workers’ Compensation Law as authorized by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court.